Uncategorized

Sweet potato nachos guilt free & gluten free

16128752_10211736669313533_1119850352_n

 

If you are looking for a fun and easy appetizer that will go over well at family events, a friend get together, or simply when you’re craving nachos. I have the perfect recipe for you !

Yesterday I was craving nachos and didn’t want to spend the extra $ on chips. So I decided to have a little fun and use sweet potatoes instead.

What you will need:

Sweet potatoes

Meat, I used hamburger you can use turkey as well

Oregano, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder

Onion, black olives, tomatoes, avocados, green onion

Plain Greek yogurt for sour cream substitute

Salsa of choice

Shredded cheese

How:

I first chopped up some onion, enough to equal 1/4 cup tossed that in the pan with some olive oil until fragrant. I then added my hamburger meat and let that brown. Before it was fully cooked I then added the seasonings. All I used was a pinch of it all, you can measure if you want based on the amount you’re cooking. So simply a pinch of oregano, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder, and onion powder. Forget that packet seasoning, this is easy and controlled! No added MSG or high sodium and sugar content. ( PERFECT )

I then allowed the meat to cool once it was fully cooked. I preheat my oven to 400*. I thinly sliced my sweet potatoes after washing them and cutting the ends off. You can leave the skin on or peel, I left the skin on. Cut your sweet potatoes roughly 1/8 inch thick. Lay on a pan with tinfoil prayed with oil of your choice. I also before putting them in the oven sprayed a little olive oil on them. I cooked those for roughly 5 minutes. All ovens vary, mine is hotter than normal so I was aware to check sooner than later so they didn’t burn. Once they look dried out, and cooked. They won’t be “crispy”. Once they were cooked I put on a cooling rack so they could cool off.

Once your meat is cooked and potatoes cooked. I then used the same pan with tin foil. Tossed my mound of potatoes on first then layered with the meat. I tossed this in the oven for a couple minutes to warm everything back up. Took it out of the oven, added my shredded cheese and back in the oven it went until it was perfectly melty. I then topped it with black olives, tomatoes, avocado, Greek yogurt, green onion, and salsa!!

 

Enjoy! This was delicious, filling, and guilt FREE!

 

Much love and happiness

Operationlivehealthy ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

