Uncategorized

Superfood blue quinoa & kale salad w/ lemon dressing

I started doing challenges in my FB group to bring about health to the community I have on my social media. The first challenge we ever did was my Superfood Salad Challenge. It lasted for 7 days, I created salad recipes and posted them in our closed group some tried them some did not, but it was an amazing way to create a healthy tribe and accountability for 7 days. I have to say my skin cleared up, the whites of my eyes were very white. I had TONS of energy AND I DID NOT CRAVE SUGAR!!!

Eating all of these amazing superfoods and reaping the benefits of it was quite incredible. I continued my healthy habit past the 7 days as well as some other participants. I was also told that it was a way for them to help reset their bodies. Which I can also say the same happened for me.

So here was one of my favorite salad recipes I have become a MAJOR fan at making my own salad dressings. I also really like the vinaigrettes and an olive oil base dressing.

super-food-blue-salad

So here is my recipe!

2 cups kale

1/4 cup cooked quinoa ( red or white is fine )

1/2 avocado

1/2 cup blueberries

1/2 cup grapes

1/4 cup crushed unsalted almonds

 

Dressing:

2 1/2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp fresh or bottled lemon juice

1 Tbsp raw organic honey

Dash of sea salt & pepper

 

How to make it !

I took a large bowl, this was a decent sized salad if you are making it for a family dinner or want a smaller portion just half the recipe! I added in my kale, quinoa which I already had cooked. I used the red quinoa which I found at my local Aldi, avocado, blueberries, grapes, and I also had some unsalted almonds from my local Aldi and took a handful and chopped them up with my knife.

As far as the dressing this will be enough for a couple salads unless you like a decent amount on your salad. I found a small mason jar added in all the ingredients put on the lid and give it a good shake! This dressing is so YUMMY! What you have left I put in my fridge and used it again in a few days.

 

Eating healthy is SO EASY!!! All of my fruits & veggies I’ve been getting them from Aldi. Not only is it super CHEAP! They quality of the produce is remarkable, my kale lasted almost 2 weeks the blueberries lasted over a week. My grapes lasted me 3 weeks! It’s crazy how fresh their stuff is so if you have one close by and want to partake on a salad journey I would highly recommend going to Aldi.

 

Much love and happiness

Operationlivehealthy ❤

Leave a Reply

