Uncategorized

Guilt free taco salad

Hello everyone!

I feel as though it’s been a while since I have posted a recipe! I have to say this salad isn’t my creation, so I can’t take full responsibility. I saw this recipe from Lori Harder originally but have made it into my own way, and lets face it we all love our own style of tacos. So this recipe can be added to or taken from this is just the basics to creating your delicious guilt free taco salad!

Taco Salad 3

Lets not waste anymore time and get down to it, here’s what you’ll need:


Frying pan

Pot for rice

1 lb of hamburger

1 Cup rice of choice, I used jasmine rice because it gets fluffy and is delicious. Ideally if you want it to be healthier I would use brown rice

2 Tbsp chopped white onion

1/2 tsp Paprika, 1/2 Tbsp chili powder, 1 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp Himalayan salt, 1/4 garlic powder, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp oregano, 1 1/2 tsp cumin

1 C water

Chopped cilantro

1 roma tomato chopped

1 lime halved, we will use half in water during cooking and rest to squeeze over the salad

1/4 avocado chopped

Couple tablespoons chopped black olives

1 dollop of sour cream, and 1 dollop salsa of choice

1 bag lettuce of choice, all you’ll need is a handful. I used butter lettuce tonight I’ve never had it before, and it was amazing!

Optional to top with cheese


Lets start by getting your water to a boil, cook per package. My rice said 1 1/2 cups water to a boil then add in 1 cup rice. Chop up a pinch of cilantro and half your lime. Cut this into quarters toss in your pan once you cover it, and allow it to cook.

While your water is coming to a boil get your pan hot, toss in some olive or coconut oil then add in your onions. This would be a perfect time to mix up your seasoning for your meat. Sauté your onions until they’re fragrant and soft then add your hamburger. Brown hamburger and drain most of the fat off the hamburger. Once your pan is drained toss in your seasoning and a cup of water. Allow this to simmer until your water evaporates.

Once your hamburger is done and your rice is cooked!! Your home should be very fragrant, I promise you this will become one of your favorite guilt free meals! I got my bowl grabbed a handful of lettuce. Tossed in 1/2 cup of rice then add your meat. I then added my avocado, black olives, tomatoes, salsa, and sour cream. Topped with a little cheese and Viola!

Your amazing, guilt free taco salad that will be a family hit, and a fun summer dish to share!

Much love and happiness

Operationlivehealthy ❤

 

Leave a comment